Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search
Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version

In the unlikely event of a nuclear accident at the nuclear power stations at Daya Bay, what countermeasures should be taken by the HKSAR Government?

To cope with the unlikely event of a nuclear accident at the nuclear power stations at Daya Bay, the HKSAR Government has prepared a comprehensive "Daya Bay Contingency Plan (DBCP)". All bureaux and government departments have specific roles to play in accordance with the DBCP. The public should pay attention to announcements about what to do from the radio, TV and the Security Bureau's DBCP website.

Countermeasures stated in the DBCP are interventions to be taken to protect the public against exposure through plume exposure pathway or ingestion pathway.

Plume exposure pathway countermeasures

As concluded in a consultancy report on the environmental aspects of the Daya Bay nuclear power stations for the HKSAR, plume exposure pathway countermeasures would not be required in Hong Kong in any design-basis nuclear accidents at the nuclear power stations due to their distances from the urban areas of Hong Kong. However, to ensure that Hong Kong people are protected, these countermeasures are still included in the DBCP to deal with any unlikely event of a serious, beyond design-basis, nuclear accident. The plume exposure pathway countermeasures are:

(1)

Evacuation or sheltering

This applies to Ping Chau and the waters of Mirs Bay within 20 km of the nuclear power stations.

(2)

Monitoring of persons arriving in Hong Kong from areas within 20 km of the nuclear power stations

Monitoring is the process of checking contamination levels and removing external contamination by showering. Monitoring Centres (MCs) will be set up at designated swimming pools. Persons who cannot be completely decontaminated by showering at the MCs will be sent to Emergency Radiation Treatment Centres in designated hospitals. Apart from people arriving through the boundary, evacuees from Ping Chau and Mirs Bay will also be screened to ensure that no person possibly contaminated will be overlooked.

(3)

Monitoring incoming cargo (except foodstuffs and livestock)

Special boundary control measures will ensure that contaminated cargo is prevented from entering Hong Kong.

(4)

Administration of stable iodine

The taking of stable iodine tablets helps prevent the take-up of radioactive iodine by persons exposed to the plume. This would only be required for those having contact with the radioactive plume or found contaminated during the monitoring process and, possibly, as a prophylactic measure, for those involved in the evacuation of Ping Chau and Mirs Bay.

Ingestion pathway countermeasures

(1)

Control of food

Food imported from within 50 km of the nuclear power stations will be monitored at the boundary and other entry points for contamination. Food with radiation levels exceeding the Codex Alimentarius Commission (CAC) Guideline Levels* will be returned to Guandong. The same standard will be used for the control of food produced in Hong Kong.

(2)

Control of livestock

Control of livestock, whether imported or locally reared, will be exercised after slaughter; the same standards as for other foodstuffs will be used.

(3)

Control of water

It is most unlikely that the control standard for water would be approached let alone exceeded in a nuclear emergency at the nuclear power stations. If it were, then the raw water supply from Guangdong would be suspended until its radiation level fell below the standard, when it would be resumed. Water Supplies Department would take steps to ensure that non-contaminated or least contaminated sources were used preferentially.

 

Monitoring of persons arriving in Hong Kong from areas within 20 km of the nuclear power stations

Monitoring of persons arriving in Hong Kong from areas within 20 km of the nuclear power stations

Monitoring incoming cargo

Monitoring incoming cargo

Control of food

Control of food

Control of livestock

Control of livestock

Control of water

Control of water

For more details, please visit the Security Bureau's DBCP website.

* Codex Guideline Levels for Radionuclides in Foods Following Accidental Nuclear Contamination for Use in International Trade (www.codexalimentarius.org/). The prevailing CAC Guidelines Levels for I-131 and Sr-90 in food are 100Bq/kg while those for Cs-134 and Cs-137 in food are 1000 Bq/kg.


Previous Page
Next Page

Last revision date: <19 Dec 2012>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋
搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF

萬一位於大亞灣的核電站發生核事故,香港特區政府有什麼防護措施?

以應付大亞灣的核電站一旦可能發生核事故,香港特區政府早已制定一套全面的「大亞灣應變計劃」。各決策局及政府部門會按照應變計劃執行不同的具體任務,而市民需應密切留意電台、電視台及保安局大亞灣應變計劃網站的宣佈,了解政府的應變措施

在大亞灣應變計劃內,輻射防護措施是指為保護市民而採取的干預措施。它的目的是盡量減低市民從輻射煙羽或食入途徑所受到的輻射照射。

煙羽防護措施

香港特區政府曾特別為大亞灣核電站的環境問題進行研究,有關的顧問報告書指出,由於大亞灣的核電站遠離香港市區,即使核電站的反應堆發生任何設計基準以內的核事故,香港亦無須採取輻射煙羽防護措施。然而,為確保萬一發生很嚴重的、設計基準以外的核事故時,市民亦得到適當的保護,「大亞灣應變計劃」亦包含煙羽防護措施,即:

(1)

疏散或進入掩蔽所

在有需要時會在核電站二十公里範圍內的平洲及大鵬灣香港水域實施。

(2)

監測來自核電站二十公里範圍內的廣東地區來港人士

監測工作是指檢查輻射污染程度和透過淋浴清除表面污染。監測中心將設在指定的泳池。在監測中心淋浴後仍未能完全除污者,會被送往指定醫院的緊急輻射治療中心。除入境的人士外,從平洲及大鵬灣疏散的人士也會接受檢查,確保不會忽略任何可能受輻射污染的人。

(3)

監測入境貨物(不包括食物與禽畜)

採取特殊的邊境管制措施,防止受輻射污染的貨物進入香港。

(4)

服用穩定碘片

只有曾接觸輻射煙羽或證實受污染的人士才需要服用穩定碘片,目的是防止他們吸收放射性碘。在有需要時亦會考慮發給參與平洲及大鵬灣疏散行動的人員服用,作為預防措施。

食物防護措施

(1)

食物管制

由核電站五十公里範圍內的地區輸入香港的食物,都要在邊境及其他出入境檢查站接受輻射污染檢查。超過聯合食物標準計劃食品法典委員會的指引水平*的食物須退回廣東。香港出產的食物也受同樣標準管制。

(2)

禽畜管制

不論是入口或本地飼養的禽畜,在屠宰後都要接受管制,標準與其他食品管制標準相同。

(3)

食水管制

因核電站發生緊急事故而引致本港食水來源超出管制標準的情況,絕無僅有。萬一發生上述情況,便會暫停從廣東輸入原水,直至輻射水平降低至管制標準之下。水務署會採取措施,確保優先使用不受污染或污染程度最低的水源。

 

監測來自核電站二十公里範圍內的廣東地區來港人士

監測來自核電站二十公里範圍內
的廣東地區來港人士

監測入境貨物

監測入境貨物

食物管制

食物管制

禽畜管制

禽畜管制

食水管制

食水管制

有關其他詳情,請參閱保安局的大亞灣應變計劃網站

*《食品法典委員會有關核意外污染後用於國際貿易的食物中放射性核素的指導水平》 (www.codexalimentarius.org/)。現行食品法典委員會有關食物內的碘-131和鍶-90的指導水平為100貝可/公斤,而銫-134和銫-137則為1 000貝可/公斤。


上一頁
下一頁

最近修訂日期: <2014年2月11日>