Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search
Search Site Map Contact Us
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version

When will the HKO activate emergency radiation monitoring?

The HKO will initiate emergency radiation monitoring to assist assessment of nuclear accident consequences and consideration of necessary countermeasures whenever it is notified that a nuclear accident has occurred or may occur at GNPS and/or LNPS through the following channels:

 

     
1.   Notification by Guangdong(*)
In the event of off-site nuclear emergency, the relevant party in Guangdong will inform HKO immediately.
     
2.   Notification by the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)(*)
China is a signatory to the United Nations Convention on Early Notification of a Nuclear Accident. Under this Convention, China is obliged to inform the IAEA of any accident at a nuclear facility from which a release of radioactive material occurs or is likely to occur that may have transboundary radiological consequences. Subsequently, the HKO will receive the information from the IAEA Headquarters in Vienna.
     
3.   HKO's Radiation Monitoring Network (RMN)
The RMN, consisting of twelve monitoring stations, is operated by the HKO to continuously monitor the ambient gamma radiation levels in Hong Kong. An alarm will sound at the HKO Headquarters if there is a significant increase in the ambient radiation level at any of the stations. Such an increase can be of a meteorological origin and need not be due to an accidental release of radioactive materials from the nuclear power stations. Additional radiation measurements or further information on the status of the nuclear power stations may be necessary to identify the cause of the alarm.
     
4.   Water Supplies Department's On-line Water Contamination Monitoring Systems at Muk Wu
The Water Supplies Department (WSD) operates two identical On-line Water Contamination Monitoring Systems at Muk Wu Pumping Station to monitor incoming water from Guangdong. Alarms will sound at Central Control Systems at the HKO and WSD if there is a significant increase in the radiation level. The HKO and WSD will arrange further analysis of water samples to identify the cause of the alarm.
     
5.   Notification by the CLP Power Hong Kong Limited (CLP) and the Hong Kong Nuclear Investment Company (HKNIC) concerning a possible nuclear incident at GNPS
In case of a loss or impending loss of all or a portion of the electric supply from a power source outside Hong Kong, Electrical and Mechanical Services Department and the HKO will be alerted by the CLP System Control Centre at Tai Po according to an established notification system for power interruptions. Further clarification on events of the GNPS can be obtained from the HKNIC.
     
6.   Reports from travellers, media enquiries and other sources (including rumours)
Sources of information include reports from travellers near the nuclear power stations, media enquiries about abnormal events at the nuclear power stations and injured workers from the nuclear power stations being medically evacuated to Hong Kong and etc.

 

   

(*) HKO acts as Security Bureau's agent and first point of contact, on a 24-hour basis, for receiving and authenticating messages from the Guangdong authorities and the IAEA in accordance with bilateral agreements and the international conventions on early notification and assistance.

Previous page
Next page

 

 

 

Last revision date: <21 Feb 2014>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋
搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF

何時展開應急輻射監測?

香港天文台一旦知道或懷疑核電站發生核事故,就會展開應急輻射監測工作,以協助評價核事故的影響及考慮所需的防護措施。天文台會透過以下六種途徑收集有關核電站發生核事故的通報,或核電站可能發生核事故的資料。

 

     
1.   由廣東當局發出的通知(*)
一旦核電站發生站外緊急情況,廣東有關當局會立即通知香港天文台。
     
2.   由國際原子能機構發出的通知(*)
中國是《聯合國及早通報核事故公約》的締約國。根據該公約,如核設施有任何事故而引致泄漏或可能泄漏放射性物質而造成跨境的影響,中國必須通知國際原子能機構。國際原子能機構在維也納的總部收到資料後,亦轉交香港天文台。
     
3.   香港天文台的輻射監測網絡
香港天文台的輻射監測網絡共有十二個輻射監測站,二十四小時不斷監測環境伽馬輻射水平。如任何一個監測站的環境輻射水平大幅增加,香港天文台總部的中央處理系統便會響起警報提示。但環境輻射水平增加並不一定是由於核電站意外泄漏放射性物質,亦有可能與氣象因素有關。為確定警報的原因,香港天文台會利用其他方法進一步測量輻射水平或向核電站了解情況。
     
4.   水務署位於木湖的在水質污染監測系統
木湖抽水站設有兩個在水質污染監測系統,監測從廣東輸入的食水。如輻射水平大幅增加,香港天文台與水務署的中央處理系統便會響起警報提示。為確定警報的原因,香港天文台及水務署會安排詳細的水質樣本分析。
     
5.   中華電力有限公司(中電)香港核電投資有限公司(港核投)就廣東核電站可能發生核事故發出的通知
如失去或即將失去香港境外電源的全部或部分供電時,中電在大埔的監測系統控制中心會按照既定的電力中斷通報機制,通知機電工程署及香港天文台。有關廣東核電站核事故的情況,港方亦可向港核投深入瞭解。
     
6.   旅客所報資料、媒介的查詢及其他資料來源(包括謠言)
資料來源包括核電站附近的旅客的報告、媒介對核電站異常事件的查詢及在核電站因工受傷而須送到香港醫治的核電站員工等。

 

   

(*) 按照香港與內地的雙邊協議和及早通告核意外與援助國際公約,天文台負責每日二十四小時作為保安局的代表及第一聯絡站,接收及核實來自廣東當局及國際原子能機構有關核電站核事故的訊息。

上一頁
下一頁

 

 

 

最近修訂日期: <2014年2月21日>