前言

2007年將會是未來歷史書籍重點記載的一年。人類首次透過長期的觀察和研究發現自已對地球的氣候造成毋庸置疑的影響(1),並了解到人類引起的氣候變化對全球的生態環境以及關乎人類生存的方方面面,如糧食、食水、健康等,都有負面的衍生作用(2)。人類必須積極面對問題,既要採取適應措施配合變化了的氣候,亦要盡快行動消除問題的根源,不要讓氣候變得更快,危害人類以及全體地球生物的生存。

作為氣象科學人員,我長期對所謂氣候轉變抱持懷疑態度,認為氣候自古以來都在變化起伏,偶然數年的冷暖,不必大驚小怪,但是自從2001年政府間氣候變化專門委員會發表了它的第三份科學評估報告之後,在大量的數據和論證的支持下,人類活動造成氣候變化的輪廓十分清楚,加上氣候變化的後果嚴重,堅持以否定的態度面對氣候變化和拒絕採取行動回應,不再是負責任的氣象工作者的選擇。

在這個背景下,香港天文台展開一系列研究香港氣候變化的工作,並陸續把工作結果告知市民。如今,二十一世紀末香港「可能」再沒有冬天,已經成為大家都熟知的新聞報導。我要請大家留意「可能」兩個字,事實上,一百年後的氣候不單是由氣象科學決定的,相對來說,數學和物理本身不複雜,更難測的是未來數十年人類怎樣生活,是否繼續燃燒煤和石油並因此排放大量二氧化碳促使全球暖化加速。如果大家立刻行動起來,徹底改變生活模式,不讓二氧化碳增加,那麼世紀末冬天不再來的預測便不會實現。

這個教材套代表香港天文台的一分努力,希望更多人認識氣候變化,了解它的重大影響,以及因而產生動機身體力行,以所有能力所及的辦法減少排放二氧化碳,讓地球得到喘息的機會。在這件工作上,我們願意跟教育界和所有民間團體合作,為香港人以至全世界的人類共同保衛我們美好的家園。


 
香港天文台台長
 
 
2007年6 月27日

(1)

世界氣象組織和聯合國環境規劃署2007年2月2日巴黎新聞稿標題為《IPCC指出人類造成全球變暖的證據毋庸置疑》。

(2)

政府間氣候變化專門委員會2007年4月6日發表《氣候變化2007 : 影響、適應和脆弱性》的決策者摘要。

   

上一頁
下一頁

Preface

2007 will go down in history as a remarkable year. Through extended observations and research, mankind discovered for the first time that it had made an unequivocal impact on the climate of the Earth(1). It understood that man-made climate change could have adverse consequences for the global ecological environment and on various aspects bearing on human survival such as food, water, health, etc(2). Mankind must deal with these problems, not only by taking adaptive measures to cope with the changing climate, but also by taking prompt actions to remove the fundamental cause of the problem. Mankind cannot allow the climate to spin out of control, jeopardizing the survival of the human race and all creatures on Earth.

As a meteorologist myself, I was a long-time skeptic of the so-called "climate change" since I knew that climate had always been fluctuating since ancient times. A few years of cold or hot once in a while should not be overplayed. However, since the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change published its 3rd scientific assessment report in 2001, the huge volume of data and evidence made it clear that the climate had indeed changed as a result of human activities. Furthermore, in view of the serious consequences of climate change, it is no longer a choice for a responsible meteorologist to deny the existence of climate change and to refuse to take any responsive action.

Against this background, the Hong Kong Observatory commenced a series of studies on climate change in Hong Kong, and released the results of these studies to the public in stages. By now, that "winter may disappear from Hong Kong by the end of the 21st century" has become a well-known piece of news. I would like to draw your attention to the word "may". The climate one hundred years from now is not purely determined by meteorological science. Relatively speaking, the mathematics and physics of climate is not complex. The difficult part is to predict how people would lead their lives in the coming decades. It depends on whether or not people would continue to burn coal and petroleum for energy, thus releasing large quantities of carbon dioxide which would in turn speed up global warming. If all of us quickly change our life-style and stop carbon dioxide increasing, the forecast of no winters by the end of the century will not come true.

This educational package represents an effort by the Hong Kong Observatory to promote public awareness of climate change. It is intended to help people appreciate what climate change is and understand its serious impacts. Hopefully people would be motivated to act as responsible individuals, helping to reduce carbon dioxide emission by all available means, so as to give the Earth a chance to recover. In this endeavour, we would be happy to work alongside the education sector and non-government organizations to defend our beautiful Earth which we call home, for the sake of the people of Hong Kong as well as all mankind.

 
 
(Lam Chiu-ying)
 
Director of the Hong Kong Observatory
 
27 June 2007
   
(1)

Press release titled "the evidence for human-caused global warming is now "unequivocal", says IPCC", issued by the World Meteorological Organization and United Nations Environment Programme on 2 February 2007 in Paris.

(2)

The Summary for Policymakers "Climate Change 2007 : Impact, adaptation and vulnerability" released by the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change on 6 April 2007.

   

Previous page
Forward